It’s the POV, stupid

The militant Christian wing of my family — for whom I have great affection but with whom I share few religious or political ideas — is circulating an anti-Obama e-mail, one which apparently has been making the rounds for months. (This is the first I’ve heard of it, but a web search turns up thousands of previous mentions.) Here are a few of the reasons it gives for opposing Obama.

  • He is willing to meet with Fidel Castro, Hugo Chavez, Kim Jung Il and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.
  • Voted to allow law suits against gun manufacturers.
  • Supports universal health-care.
  • Voted yes on providing habeas corpus for Guantanamo detainees.
  • Opposed the Patriot Act.
  • Wants to make the minimum wage a ‘living wage’.
  • Opposed to any efforts to Privatize Social Security and instead supports increasing the amount of tax paid into Social Security.
  • Perhaps you can see my problem. Those are seven of the reasons I’m supporting Obama. Of the remaining items on the list, some are similarly ambivalent, some are cheesy, and a few are outright lies. (See below.) Beyond that, and really more important, is the provenance of the mailing. It comes with this introduction.

    Billy Graham team on Obama

    We felt this info to be very significant as the facts are documented. Bill Brown, retired from the Billy Graham Evangelistic Assn., sent this to us. Please pass along if you would like. I believe we need to know our candidates better.

    Bill Brown, is a highly respected retired member of the Billy Graham team so, I take his assessment of Obama very seriously and for that reason accept his challenge to pass this on. I share his concern about the ‘rock star’ image Obama has and watch with growing concern at the celebrity status the media has foisted upon him. Here is hope this email informs you in a wise way.

    I’m not a fan of Billy Graham, but my first impression was that his organization is too professional and slick to propagate anything this sloppy. Those of us with doubts about the validity of the mailing, however, are urged to check with snopes.com, where the information has been verified.

    So I did check with snopes. This is what I found. The Bill Brown formerly associated with BG had no connection with the mailing. The mailing itself, according to snopes research, was “a jumble of opinion, genuine Barack Obama campaign positions, misinformation, and technically true but misleading statements.”

    3 thoughts on “It’s the POV, stupid

    1. Hey, cuz, just to let you know I agree with your reasons for supporting Obama, and am aghast that there is a right-wing segment in our family. I’m enjoying and learning from your various posts. Keep up the good worl.

    2. Hey bud, keep reading and learning more about other cultures and be open minded. I am a inactive Marine who is well versed in politics. I have found that right wingers are just blowing smoke up our ass and they don’t know it! I was not paying attention back when I was younger. People get caught up w/ that childish talk the extreme right usually talk about. It just comes down to balance and being able to look in the mirrior and know we are not perfect(like the right wing wacko’s think) I could go on but as long as who ever is in charge is smart, well versed and holds people accountable (unlike G.W. Palin…..) things should work out because that is the way our constitution is supposed to work and will as long as there are people who question things. Thanks for letting me give a little of my thoughts!

    Leave a Reply

    